A three-goal first period propelled Oswego to a 5-2 win over Augsburg in the championship game of the Pathfinder Bank Oswego Hockey Classic. This was Oswego’s second title in their own tournament’s three-year history.

Garren Reisweber was named the Tournament MVP, as he tallied four goals for the weekend.

“Tonight, I thought getting off to a good start and getting them back on their heels [was the difference in the game],” Oswego coach Ed Gosek said. “That’s certainly a positive anytime you can jump out early. A lot of good efforts by a lot of individuals, a lot of guys contributed.”

It took only 1:16 to get the scoring started. Andrew Mather scored his first collegiate goal on a waist high shot from the high right slot area. A fellow Laker was skating across the goalmouth at the same time, screening Andrew Kent, who reacted late.

Five minutes later, Reisweber picked up where he left off last night, scoring his fourth goal of the tournament. His quick shot right off a faceoff to the right of Kent left the goaltender with no chance and gave Oswego a 2-0 lead.

Oswego converted on their second power play two minutes later on a perfect cross-ice pass by Chris Laganiere to Matt Whitehead to the left of the goaltender. Whitehead had no problem one-timing the puck into the open side of the net.

Mather liked the idea of scoring in college so much, he did it again at 11:37 of the second period. Brendan McLaughlin’s shot while racing down the left side was stopped, but Kent left the rebound at his feet. Mather was there to stuff it in for a 4-0 lead. This was only Mather’s third game.

“Our hardest part is finding a way to get him into the lineup,” Gosek said. “We knew when we recruited him he was a quality player. He is only going to get better. He’s a great kid. He’s not a kid who complains once. I’m happy for him he got a couple tonight. That will give us a little more depth.”

Oswego opened the third period even faster than they did the first period. Mark Lozzi scored 30 seconds into the period on a quick rush to the net to increase the lead to 5-0.

Augsburg broke the shutout with two power-play goals 1:08 apart, both by Nick Guran. The first was taken in the slot area and the puck deflected up high just under the crossbar. Guran put in the second one racing down the right side and knocking in a rebound.

Tim Potter got the start again and made 26 saves for the win.

“Tonight, I thought he followed the puck with his body, moved well in the net, did a much better job,” Gosek said.

Along with Reisweber, three other Lakers made the All Tournament team: McLaughlin (F), Hank Van Boxmeer (D), and Potter (G). Augsburg’s forward Chris Johnson and Skidmore’s defenseman Steve Keady rounded out the selections

The participants for next year’s tournament will be Milwaukee School of Engineering, Elmira, and Connecticut College and will take place January 2-3, 2010.

Augsburg (3-8-0) has a long trip back to Minneapolis and have to play on Friday, but it is home against Wisconsin-Stevens Point.

Oswego (10-5-1) stays home, playing Hamilton on Tuesday.