Women’s Division I NCAA tournament

Women’s Division I NCAA tournament

2016 tournament

Locations, dates:

Selection show: March 6, 9 p.m. EST, NCAA.com

First round: Campus sites, March 12.

Frozen Four: Whittemore Center Arena, Durham, N.H., March 18 and 20.

Qualifying teams: 8

Format: The top four teams according to the selection criteria will be seeded 1-4. The remaining four teams will be placed in the bracket based on relative strength as long as these pairings do not result in additional flights. All rounds are single elimination. More: NCAA Division I women’s tournament selection process

Automatic qualifiers: Postseason tournament champions from CHA, ECAC Hockey, Hockey East and WCHA

2016 bracket

March 11/12
March 18
March 20

1 Boston College

4 Quinnipiac

2 Wisconsin

3 Minnesota

Boston College


Boston College

PDF: Printable bracket

NCAA Division I women’s ice hockey committee

Sarah Fraser, Brown associate athletic director (chair)

Mark Johnson, Wisconsin coach

Nick Reggio, Providence associate athletic director

Mike Sisti, Mercyhurst coach

Future sites

Frozen Four: Family Arena, St. Charles, Mo., March 17-19

Frozen Four: Ridder Arena, Minneapolis, March 16-18

NCAA champions

Year Champion Runner-up Site
2016 Minnesota Boston College Durham, N.H.
2015 Minnesota Harvard Minneapolis
2014 Clarkson Minnesota Hamden, Conn.
2013 Minnesota Boston University Minneapolis
2012 Minnesota Wisconsin Duluth, Minn.
2011 Wisconsin Boston University Erie, Pa.
2010 Minnesota-Duluth Cornell Minneapolis
2009 Wisconsin Mercyhurst Boston
2008 Minnesota-Duluth Wisconsin Duluth, Minn.
2007 Wisconsin Minnesota-Duluth Lake Placid, N.Y.
2006 Wisconsin Minnesota Minneapolis
2005 Minnesota Harvard Durham, N.H.
2004 Minnesota Harvard Providence, R.I.
2003 Minnesota-Duluth Harvard Duluth, Minn.
2002 Minnesota-Duluth Brown Durham, N.H.
2001 Minnesota-Duluth St. Lawrence Minneapolis
2000* Minnesota Brown Boston
1999* Harvard New Hampshire Minneapolis
1998* New Hampshire Brown Boston

* — National Championship sponsored by the AWCHA, not the NCAA, from 1998 to 2000

NCAA tournament Most Outstanding Player

Year Winner, Position, School
2015 Hannah Brandt, F, Minnesota
2014 Jamie Lynn Rattray, F, Clarkson
2013 Noora Raty, G, Minnesota
2012 Noora Raty, G, Minnesota
2011 Meghan Duggan, F, Wisconsin and Hilary Knight, F, Wisconsin
2010 Emmanuelle Blais, F, Minnesota-Duluth
2009 Jessie Vetter, G, Wisconsin
2008 Kim Martin, G, Minnesota-Duluth
2007 Sara Bauer, F, Wisconsin
2006 Jessie Vetter, G, Wisconsin
2005 Natalie Darwitz, F, Minnesota
2004 Krissy Wendell, F, Minnesota
2003 Caroline Ouellette, D, Minnesota-Duluth
2002 Kristy Zamora, F, Brown
2001 Maria Rooth, F, Minnesota-Duluth
2000 Erica Killewald, G, Minnesota
1999 Jennifer Botterill, F, Harvard
1998 Winny Brodt, D, New Hampshire