Men’s Division III NCAA tournament

Men’s Division III NCAA tournament

2016 tournament

Locations, dates:

Selection show: March 7,

First round: Campus sites, March 12.

Quarterfinals: Campus sites, March 19.

Semifinals, finals: Herb Brooks Arena, Lake Placid, N.Y., March 25-26.

Qualifying teams: 11

Format: Five teams receive byes to the quarterfinals, where they are joined by the winners of three first-round games. All rounds are single elimination.

Automatic qualifiers:

Pool A: Seven postseason tournament champions — from ECAC Northeast, MASCAC, MIAC, NEHC, NESCAC, NCHA and SUNYAC

Pool B: One institution from group of schools in conferences that do not qualify for Pool A consideration (ECAC West, WIAC)

Pool C: Three institutions from automatic-qualifying conferences that are not their conference champions, and the remaining teams in Pool B

2016 bracket

First round
March 12
March 19
March 25
March 26

Salve Regina

Salem State


Wis.-Stevens Point


St. Norbert


Wis.-Stevens Point

St. Norbert

Wis.-Stevens Point
St. Norbert

PDF: Printable bracket

NCAA Division III men’s ice hockey committee

Don W. Olson, St. Scholastica athletic director (chair)

Tom Di Camillo, SUNYAC commissioner

Bill Kangas, Williams coach

Dan Stauber, Wisconsin-Superior coach

Future sites

2017: Utica Memorial Auditorium, Utica, N.Y., March 24-25

2018: Olympic Center, Lake Placid, N.Y., March 23-24

NCAA champions

Year Champion Runner-up
2016 Wisconsin-Stevens Point St. Norbert
2015 Trinity Wisconsin-Stevens Point
2014 St. Norbert Wisconsin-Stevens Point
2013 Wisconsin-Eau Claire Oswego
2012 St. Norbert Oswego
2011 St. Norbert Adrian
2010 Norwich St. Norbert
2009 Neumann Gustavus Adolphus
2008 St. Norbert Plattsburgh
2007 Oswego Middlebury
2006 Middlebury St. Norbert
2005 Middlebury St. Thomas
2004 Middlebury St. Norbert
2003 Norwich Oswego
2002 Wisconsin-Superior Norwich
2001 Plattsburgh Rochester Institute of Technology
2000 Norwich St. Thomas
1999 Middlebury Wisconsin-Superior
1998 Middlebury Wisconsin-Stevens Point
1997 Middlebury Wisconsin-Superior
1996 Middlebury Rochester Institute of Technology
1995 Middlebury Fredonia
1994 Wisconsin-River Falls Wisconsin-Superior
1993 Wisconsin-Stevens Point Wisconsin-River Falls
1992 Plattsburgh Wisconsin-Stevens Point
1991 Wisconsin-Stevens Point Minnesota State
1990 Wisconsin-Stevens Point Plattsburgh
1989 Wisconsin-Stevens Point Rochester Institute of Technology
1988 Wisconsin-River Falls Elmira
1987 *vacant Oswego
1986 Bemidji State *vacant
1985 Rochester Institute of Technology Bemidji State
1984 Babson Union

* Plattsburgh’s participation in the tournament was vacated by the NCAA’s Committee on Infractions