Brian McGuirk, after taking a faceoff and beating BC’s opposing winger, fired a shot that surprised Schneider to win the game and the championship at 5:06 of overtime. BU has captured its third straight and 28th all-time Beanpot championship, 2-1. The goal sent the BU student section into pandemonium.

Announcement of the tournament MVP and Eberly Award winner with be forthcoming as will reactions from BU’s Jack Parker and BC’s Jerry York.