Successful defense

The Wolverines were the defending Great Lakes Invitational champs, having beaten Colorado College 6-5 in 2010. Including tonight’s win, Michigan has won the GLI title 16 times and these UM seniors have won all but one of their years with Michigan — 2009, the last time Michigan State was crowned GLI champs.

He’s all you need

Michigan State head coach Tom Anastos is a storyteller and a very good one. Here, Anastos explains a few of the turns of the game in the post-game press conference. The voice you hear off camera is that of Neil Koepke, who wrote for the Lansing State Journal for years. Koepke — one of the best in the business — is an MSU staff writer now.

A difference of opinion

Not surprisingly, Michigan head coach Red Berenson has a very different take on the lack of television timeouts in overtime.

A banner raised

The winner of the GLI gets to raise a banner to the rafters of Joe Louis Arena. The GLI banner hangs all year, and the winning team is on display until the following year’s tournament.

I’m no videographer — clearly — but here’s what I was able to get of the Wolverines raising the banner and leaving the ice.

All-tournament team

  • Forwards Brett Perlini (MSU), A.J. Treais (UM) and David Wohlberg (UM)
  • Defensemen Kevin Clare (UM) and Torey Krug (MSU)
  • Goaltender Drew Palmisano (MSU)

Clare, who scored the overtime game winner, was named tournament MVP. With 90 saves in the tournament, 45 each night, Palmisano set a new GLI record. His save percentage for the tourney was .957.

  • streaker

    Paula: Not nitpicking your facts, but Michigan has won the GLI 15 times. Berenson coached teams have won 13 of them. This is four years out of the last five. 

    Thanks for the coverage, though. Much appreciated.

  • The lack of TV timeouts in overtime has worked against Michigan in the past too, notably in last year’s national championship game, when they got caught on a long shift after an icing.