North Dakota’s Brad Berry won the NCHC coach of the year award in his first season leading the Fighting Hawks (photo: Bradley K. Olson).

Eight coaches are finalists for the Spencer Penrose Award as Division I men’s hockey’s top coach.

Three of them — Michigan’s Red Berenson, Providence’s Nate Leaman and Boston College’s Jerry York — are former winners of the award.

To qualify as a finalist, a coach must be either named his conference’s coach of the year or advance to the Frozen Four.

The other finalists:

• North Dakota’s Brad Berry

• Denver’s Jim Montgomery

• Michigan Tech’s Mel Pearson

• Quinnipiac’s Rand Pecknold

• Air Force’s Frank Serratore

Voting takes place before the Frozen Four, and the winner will be announced on Wednesday, April 6.