Michigan State junior defenseman Torey Krug was named the CCHA player of the year at the annual CCHA awards show on Thursday as nine individual awards were handed out at Detroit’s historic Fox Theatre.

Krug was also named the league’s best offensive defenseman for the second straight year.

Ferris State’s Bob Daniels earned coach of the year honors, while Bulldogs’ senior defenseman Chad Billins took home scholar-athlete of the year laurels.

Michigan forward Alex Guptill won the rookie of the year award and teammate Luke Glendening became the second Wolverine in as many seasons to win the best defensive forward award.

Miami senior goaltender Cody Reichard received the Mike and Marian Ilitch Humanitarian Award as the league’s top citizen and Lake Superior State junior forward Domenic Monardo was presented with the Terry Flanagan Memorial Award in recognition of his perseverance, dedication and courage while overcoming severe adversity.

Western Michigan sophomore Dan DeKeyser was honored as the best defensive defenseman.